The Federal Equal Pay Act 

The Equal Pay Act ("EPA") prohibits pay discrimination based on sex.  However, it is limited to pay discrimination between employees who are performing the same job at the same location. It provides that women who perform substantially the same job tasks as men, requiring the same level of skill, with similar levels of exertion and responsibility under similar conditions should generally be paid at the same rate. Only considerations such as seniority, merit or other genuine business related factors will justify a pay differential.

Although the EPA’s protection is limited to pay differentials, and is therefore narrower than that of Title VII, the EPA does not require that an employee first file a complaint with the EEOC. An employee may bring a lawsuit for money damages under the EPA in state or federal court within two years of the discrimination occurring.

Serving Northern New Jersey and New York including Elizabeth, Newark, Rahway, Linden, Irvington, East Orange, Orange, West Orange, Union, Hillside, North Plainfield, Plainfield, Springfield, Cranford, Westfield, Scotch Plains, Roselle, Roselle Park, Kenilworth, Montclair, Livingston, Short Hills, South Orange, Maplewood, Roseland, Union City, Jersey City, Nutley, Clifton, Belleville, Kearny, Union County, Essex County, Hudson County, Bergen County, Middlesex County, Morris County, Passaic County, Sussex County, New York City, Brooklyn, Bronx, Staten Island, Queens and Manhattan.

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • LinkedIn Social Icon

                                © 2019 Lawrence & Gerges, LLC. 


Proud supporters of